Working Man

I started out writing a post this morning to commemorate my career change. I gave my resignation at my current employer and struck up a deal with a new employer. Happens all the time, nonetheless, it was a huge move.

Cindy and I met there, and I have worked there for more than 11 years. It was a big decision, but I know the right one for me. I have in fact loved working where I worked, it was a good job, but it was time to part ways with it, so I am not going to double bird Johnny Cash style on my way out and set fire to any bridges. I have a lot of friends there.

I started looking for a list of songs about leaving your job. There are plenty of lists. There is of course “Take This Job And Shove It”, but that was too harsh.

There is “Career Opportunities” by The Clash. That didn’t quite fit either.

And then I saw it… a song that I kicked myself for not thinking of myself. A song from my favorite Canadians:

Working Man by Rush!

Rush

Note the double bass AND double guitar. Oh man, those were the days.

This classic from 1974 gets to me instantly with the opening riffs and many a time Dalton and I have stopped in our tracks to bang our heads in time to this amazing song. It is a mix of anthem and solos and driving guitar and not too fast, not too slow, just right baby bear jams. The lyrics ring true to my past year and I decided that of all the songs I could play loud on the way out of the parking lot on my last day… this would be it.

I get up at seven, yeah
And I go to work at nine
I got no time for livin’
Yes, I’m workin’ all the time
It seems to me
I could live my life
A lot better than I think I am
I guess that’s why they call me
They call me the workin’ man
They call me the workin’ man
I guess that’s what I am
I get home at five o’clock
And I take myself out a nice, cold beer
Always seem to be wond’rin’
Why there’s nothin’ goin’ down here
It seems to me
I could live my life
A lot better than I think I am
I guess that’s why they call me
They call me the workin’ man
They call me the workin’ man
I guess that’s what I am
Well they call me the workin’ man
I guess that’s what I am

This is the kind of song you have to respect. Everyone has felt like this once in a while. I always feel like the song is positive in some way, he realizes that his rut is deep and I think in the end he will crawl out. So I deem it a dark view of now with light at the end of the tunnel.

Glass half full I guess.

So as I prepare for the next stage of my career, I respect and value the lessons I have learned from the last 11 years.

I look forward to next year and a new start.

I’ll still be a working man, just not THAT working man.

About auralretentive

Music Lover Music Snob Music Junkie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

