Smashing Pumpkins Monuments To An Elegy… Pre-Ordered

While going through my junk e-mail on my phone the other day I happened across an e-mail from Amazon about their vinyl releases. I opened it and to my surprise there was a new Smashing Pumpkins album for pre order.

Monuments

Now, The Smashing Pumpkins is one group that I would by an album from without ever hearing even one song. Group loyalty. It’s a thing.

That is not to say that everything TSP have released have been magical. There are a few albums that I rarely if ever listen to “Friends And Enemies Of Modern Music” and “Machina”… but after they had a period of seeming aimlessness and reforming with new members I found that I was still digging the band. I bought “Zeitgeist” and “Oceania” and loved them.

I went and saw with Dalton the movie “If All Goes Wrong” (and even bought the the DVD later) and downloaded all the shows from the movie from the Internet Archive website.

http://archive.org/browse.php?collection=etree&field=%2Fmetadata%2Fcreator

The last I heard from TSP was some grandiose album released in pieces for free on their website. Like 5 EP’s called Teargarden. It is still not finished.

Smashing-Pumpkins-Teargarden-By-Kal-503098

I got some of the songs and was not hugely impressed, but as with “Melancholy And The Infinite Sadness” you need to experience it as a whole. TSP fans, am I right?

When I saw that there was a new album on pre-order I did not hesitate to order it. At first I ordered the CD, then I decided that the way to go was vinyl. It will probably come with a digital download, or I’ll be able to get it somewhere. It was $20 bucks.

After I had clicked the order button, I considered it for a moment and decided that there were really only 3 bands which I would consider buying as a pre order. Only 3 bands that I would sight unseen purchase, just based on the band alone. They are:

Nine Inch Nails
David Bowie
and
DJ Shadow

Interestingly I have seen all 3 bands live. Hmm…

As a small wrinkle of synchronicity, after making my pre-order decision, a few days later at St. Vinny’s I ran across TSP “Melancholy And The Infinite Sadness” CD. FOr a buck? How could I not get it. I have to admit that I haven’t listened to that one in quite a while and over the next few days as I rediscovered it I became more and more excited for the new album to be released.

It seems that there are 2 new albums coming out. The other called “Day For Night”.

http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/smashing-pumpkins-to-release-two-albums-in-2015-20140325

I’ll probably get that one too.

I still have the TSP album “Siamese Dream” by the record player unopened. I will open it some day, but for now I am keeping it mint. Thanks again Dalton.

I will try and not read reviews of the new TSP album, like I tried to do for the NIN album so I can form a unbiased opinion. Stay tuned until December when it gets released for a review.

About auralretentive

Music Lover Music Snob Music Junkie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

