Some Admittedly Odd Choices

The last few times I have gone to the West Side Half Price Books I stuck to the upper bins, having a gift card, and wanting some classics. Sometimes I’m not invested enough to sit on the floor there for 20 -30 minutes.

But today I was.

I had the day off of work and after some breakfast and feeling spry enough to handle the floor, I dove in. I came away with some truly odd choices.

This one I got specifically for clock making

“Herwig Mauer Presents: Infocalypse”

2014-08-16 09.24.41

I did give it a listen. It will make a nice clock.

“Jackson Browne – Lives In The Balance”

2014-08-16 09.24.25

I don’t think I know any of these songs, but I have made it a point to try any and all J.B. records.

“Linda Ronstadt – Lush Life”

2014-08-16 09.23.42

Yes, this is her orchestra torch song album, and I have to admit… I like it.

These records were one dollar. I did mention that right?

“Bachman Turner Overdrive – Not Fragile”

2014-08-16 09.25.41

I got this on tape from someone and for about a six month period it changed my life. I think I may have gotten it from Paul Beck. This has the classic “You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet”, but it is all the other songs that make it so awesome. I did eventually get another BTO tape, but didn’t like it even close as much as this one. I love the way they literally call out the solos so you know who is playing what.

2014-08-16 09.47.12

Okay, then things got weird. Starting with some Country.

“Willie Nelson – Willie And Family Live”

2014-08-16 09.25.16

“Willie Nelson – Pretty Paper”

2014-08-16 09.24.10

The first is a double live and the second a Christmas album. I love when Willie does “Whiskey River” and it’s on the live album, and I needed a new “unusual” Christmas selection. We’ll see.

Then a little jazz.

“George Benson – Weekend In L.A.”

2014-08-16 09.25.02

This has the 9:55 minute long song that I was familiar with and love… “On Broadway”. The rest will be a total surprise I suppose. Sometime, you just take a gamble.

“Chuck Mangione – Tarantella”

2014-08-16 09.25.29

I have come across Chuck albums over and over again and harkened back to the day when I bought “Feels So Good”

Chuck Mangione - Feels So Good

a long long time ago. It was probably the first jazz album I EVER bought. I loved that song, but I don’t think I was ready for the rest of it then. I thought a double live album, with Dizzy Gilespie and Chick Corea guesting might be worth the one dollar.

Finally to bring it back to a place of semi-normalcy…

“Van Halen – 1984”

2014-08-16 09.26.22

This is the last of the line for me. There is no Van Halen after this. Nail in the coffin. Get me? Okay.

I also picked up some 45’s.

Beatles ! and Paul McCartney

2014-08-16 09.27.21

On Apple! Hey Jude/Revolution and Uncle Albert Admiral Halsey/Too Many People. 45’s are .49 cents.

I also got 2 RCA Victor 45’s in red vinyl.

2014-08-16 09.27.58

I’m a sucker for colored vinyl. What can I say?

I also picked up some tape material that day that I will write up separately.

About auralretentive

Music Lover Music Snob Music Junkie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some Admittedly Odd Choices

  1. Dalton Holmen says:

    The Van Halen record was a nice score but come on man, Willie Nelson. I’m going to say a prayer for you and hopelfully help your picks in the future.

Leave a Reply

