Take Me Out To The Ball Game – Mallards 2014

Tonight Cindy and J.J. and I went to a Mallards game.

The weather was hot but not brutally so, however the sun was nuclear for the first few innings.

2014-06-06 19.31.48

but we managed to have a good time.

2014-06-06 19.46.00

I sampled several food items (including cheese curds – God I love Wisconsin) and settled in with a bag of Dill Pickle Sunflower Seeds. Ah, bliss.I have been to Mallard’s games before. They are always a good time. Fresh air, sports, fans, thrill of the game. Several sessions of adorable kids singing and racing, the Russian Bar Team was there this night. And of course the announcer saying “Weiner” every so often. Yes I have been to Mallards games before, but this time, as if for the first time, the music nerd in me became painfully aware of 2 things…

1) The organ player is awesome. He would play the crowd pleasers, like The Chicken Dance, The Adams Family theme song and other songs that the crowd could stomp their feet to during short breaks. None of the short little ditties are terribly complicated, but the timing and delivery are top-notch.

His name is Harrisimo (Harris Lemberg).

HarrisFountainWithCharliePainterGroup_001

He has been the organist for the Mallards for over 10 years. Check out his website.

http://harrissimo.com

He has a CD available for download if you are interested.

2) The snippets of songs they play between batters, songs by the original artists, make me crazy. It kills me when they start an awesome song, then cut it off before the pitch. Once I noticed it, it’s all I could notice.

A random sampling of “bump” songs they played:

Paint It Black – Ramblin’ Man – Self Esteem – Seven Nation Army – 20th Century Boy – Come On Eileen – Enter Sandman – Ice Ice Baby – Another One Bites The Dust – Loser – Satisfaction

My mind raced each time a song started. I needed to figure out what song it was quick, before the cut it off before the pitch… it was maddening for a music junkie like me. You know, in a “keep it in perspective” sort of way. I’m my own worst enemy.

Eventually the sun went down and the weather cooled and the lights came on.

2014-06-06 20.59.50

Maynard was spotted near us several times.

2014-06-06 22.03.17

It was a great game, against the Green Bay Bull Frogs, and we won! It was a good night.

Sports and Music.   Yes!

About auralretentive

Music Lover Music Snob Music Junkie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

