First Track In The New Car

An unfortunate series of events and basic old age have forced us to retire the trusty old family van. She was a good vehicle, a solid vehicle, but to quote Hendrix “And so castles made of sand fall in the sea, eventually…”

So…

We got a 2011 Mini Cooper Countryman!

2014-05-02 17.58.25

Sort of the exact opposite of a family van. Although, it is a four-seater.

Cindy drove it home from the dealership and we moved the van out to the side of the driveway and rotated which car was parking where. I hadn’t actually even driven it yet, so I decided to take it for a spin around town. But first… to pick a CD, the first CD to play in the new to us car.

I mean, this is important. The wrong CD could taint the whole vibe of the car. I knew just what I wanted to play. It was a recent purchase from a band that I have the entire catalog of, but never listen to because all the files are .flac and I have never converted them. Lazy.

At any rate, I used to have one of their albums and loved it and recently got this one.

“The Cult – Pure Cult”

2014-05-02 19.27.58

This is a greatest hits collection and Track One is “She Sells Sanctuary”. The video blew me away, back in the day when a videos swayed my opinions of bands and when videos were a normal part of MTV. Ian Astbury doing his little jig in an odd pirate-ish get up on that weird black stage was a visual treat. I always see that in my head when I think Cult. Perfect.

2014-05-02 19.28.10

We drove around town, Ian sang and Duffy wrangled his strings into a symphony of road music. It was awesome.

As an aside, did you like Ian’s stint as D21C? I thought visually and vocally he did pretty well.   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aMvf92jLhrk      Anyway…

The car handles amazing and rides great and I loved it. The stereo is still a mystery console of buttons, but I figured out the CD button at least.

2014-05-02 19.28.24

Stopped at home and gave Joey and ride, picked up my mom and gave her a ride and then brought the car back to its new place in the garage and let it rest for a bit.

2014-05-02 19.27.31

Welcome home Swarley.

About auralretentive

Music Lover Music Snob Music Junkie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Track In The New Car

  1. Mom says:

    Great ride Swarley with two of my favorite guys. Mom

Leave a Reply

