Beware – The Black Angels Coming To The Majestic

The Black Angels are a band introduced to me by Otis.

The+Black+Angels

In one of our very early exchanges he gave me 2 Black Angels releases and I liked them a lot. They are a moody, somewhat eerie at times kind of a band, sort of like a doped up psychedelic Black Keys at a Halloween party, but in a good way.

They grew on me and I discovered that I had some KEXP live performances by them in my Podcasts. You can see and hear one of these here:

http://wearethelastbeatniks.com/2011/08/18/the-black-angels-live-kexp/

the-black-angels-live-from-kexp-by-pepe

and when I discovered the IROCKE website, I recorded their Austin City Limits performance. I highly recommend you check them out.

Today, as I was researching some random stuff about Madison on E-bay I was surprised to find a listing that was selling tickets to a Black Angels show at The Majestic on February 4th!

Sweet! I hadn’t heard they were coming. That would be a great show to see.

Whoa! Tickets are $60 bucks??

I paid $50 to see B. B. King and that was probably the most I have ever spent on a concert ticket in my life. To pay $60 was simply too much. I was sad, but I would have to skip that one.  😦   I rarely use emoticons, but in this scenario it is called for.

Puzzled by the high price, not that The Black Angels are not worth $60 to some folks, I went to The Majestic website for the show in February.

http://www.etix.com/ticket/online/performanceSearch.jsp?performance_id=1776101

What the hell?! They are selling tickets for $22!    Back to this:   🙂

I have no idea who these people are that are selling tickets for $60 bucks (and that is before no doubt before charges and taxes) but they are nuts. Or brilliant I guess.

For you Madison folks though… for God’s sake, order tickets from The Majestic. You have been warned.

About auralretentive

Music Lover Music Snob Music Junkie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

