Top 20… perhaps 50… Project

My friend Dalton a few months ago sent me, via text, his top 47 most influential LP’s of all time. A very specific type of list. He included cell phone pictures of the ones he still owned (most) and brief explanations of why there were so important. It was fun to get his list over a couple weeks; he doled it out a few each day until we reached # 1. There were surprises along the way. I knew some of his favorites, but there were some that I never would have expected.

His approach was to include them only if they had been instrumental in changing his taste, or really affecting his musical path. He is a pretty hard rocker, but he had Sinead O’Connor and CSNY in his list. It was very interesting for a guy I have known for about 20 years and talk music with all the time.

I started to think about how I would even begin to determine what my top 20, or even 50 albums would be.

I actually got this fortune in my take-away (Hi Abbey) Chinese food recently. Ironic.

I decided the best thing to do would be to look down the list of artist on my external hard drive of all my music and write down the name of artists that I felt had at least one album that might make the top 50. That list turned out to be more than 50. Some were standouts, others I can see moving down and maybe dropping off the list when it gets honed down. Some hard decisions will need to be made, especially considering some artists will have multiples in the list.

So in the next few weeks I am going to be trying to put my list together. Right now it is just albums I love. When I have to start cutting out some, I guess I will determine my criteria then.

Game on.

About auralretentive

Music Lover Music Snob Music Junkie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

